CHALLENGEALMERE-AMSTERDAM is organized by Holland Triathlon BV commissioned by Holland Triathlon Foundation

Challenge Almere is the beating heart of Dutch triathlon with the CHALLENGEALMERE-AMSTERDAM as its highlight: a unique event by international standards, which is a once in a lifetime experience for athletes, volunteers, and supporters.

CHALLENGEALMERE-AMSTERDAM is organized by volunteers only. The board and three race directors direct a team of managers. Each of these managers gets help from a group of volunteers to organize their specific part of the race. Various volunteers are active throughout the year in order to prepare the race. Managers meet each other every six to eight weeks to discuss preparations for the race and take days off for the race in order to build and dismantle the event. The three race directors, the race secretariat, and the managers Communication and Volunteer Recruitment work in the office every week.

The race directors are Richard Belderok (36, race director), Jefry Visser (32, event director), and Jort Vlam (36, commercial director). All three grew up in Almere and became involved in triathlon at a young age. As triathletes, they all finished the Long Distance triathlon in Almere one or more times. Together with the board, they were responsible for the shift of Holland Triathlon to CHALLENGEALMERE-AMSTERDAM in 2013. The three directors are also involved in the organization of Challenge Aruba and Challenge Geraardsbergen besides the races of Stichting Start2Finish in Almere.

The people behind Challenge Almere-Amsterdam

  • Tim Moria
    Tim Moria Press
    • Jasmijn Haenen
      Jasmijn Haenen Medical Care
      • Miranka Anderson
        Miranka Anderson Volunteer Care
        • Frank Veltman
          Frank Veltman Transition Area
          • Christiaan de Jong
            Christiaan de Jong Eventmanager
            • Ilona Jonkman
              Ilona Jonkman Horeca
              • Marius van Gasteren
                Marius van Gasteren Warehouse & Logistics
                • Marjan van Aken
                  Marjan van Aken Junior Challenge
                  • Debby van Dongen
                    Debby van Dongen Registrations
                    • Arjan Schilder
                      Arjan Schilder Event manager
                      • Richard Belderok
                        Richard Belderok Race Director / Safety
                      • Jefry Visser
                        Jefry Visser Operational Director / Race Area
                      • Jort Vlam
                        Jort Vlam Commercial Director / Communication / Sponsorships
                      • Boudewijn Vlam
                        Boudewijn Vlam Water Security
                        • Roy Philip
                          Roy Philip Event Support Team
                          • Willem Westhoff
                            Willem Westhoff Branding & Venue set-up
                          • Judith Ettema
                            Judith Ettema Athletes Care
                          • Shanna Weterings
                            Shanna Weterings Volunteers
                          • Corry Aarts
                            Corry Aarts Secretary
                          • Jolanda Felix
                            Jolanda Felix Registrations
                            • Gertjan Steltman
                              Gertjan Steltman Hospitality
                              • Marlous Droog
                                Marlous Droog Medical care
                              • Walter Hubers
                                Walter Hubers Safety
                                • Robert de Ridder
                                  Robert de Ridder Race Security Support